I wish I was… Roman Mars.

by andjustin4all

I would say I have a new favorite podcast about once every 3 months or so and it runs a similar cycle.  Download every episode. Listen to every episode.  Burn out.  See the circled exclamation point that says, “iTunes has stopped updating this podcast because you have not listened to any episodes recently. Would you like to resume updating this podcast?”

I can guarantee you Roman Mars’s 99% Invisible is not one of them and never will be. Podcasting has its great storytellers in Ira Glass and Jad Abumrad, but Mars is its poet laureate.   There’s no excuse to not subscribe.  They are short around: 10-12 minutes.  Interesting: focused mostly around the more “invisible” aspects of everyday design but none of this matters.  I could listen to Roman Mars read Letters To Cleo lyrics in Czech because his sound design is so layered and subtley beautiful every episode is like listening to a flower open.  Yeah I went there.

So Roman if you’re reading this: make more.  But not too much.  I want to have some sort of a life.

